University of Iowa

About

Your shopping cart is empty.

MADE is a cutting-edge commercialization initiative by the University of Iowa.  Products are developed by Faculty and Staff, prototyped and manufactured locally, then sold directly through a web-based platform.  A multi-disciplinary student operations team assists with the development, manufacturing, pricing, marketing, sales, quality and regulatory affairs of all products.  Through MADE, these students gain first-hand knowledge of bringing a product to market.

All products are available for license through UIRF.

Our Inventors

Surgeons, physicians and medical professionals understand the medical challenges better than anyone else.  They are expert users who see opportunities to improve on current methods and technologies within their practice.  We are constantly looking for ways to discover more innovation at the University of Iowa and now we have a way to highlight the inventions of our medical experts and take them to the next level.  Iowa MADE is proud to work with these innovators!

See our Inventors

Team

Jordan Kaufmann, Ph.D.

Executive Director

jordan-kaufmann@uiowa.edu

319-384-3425

Matt Howard, M.D.

Medical Product Liaison

matthew-howard@uiowa.edu

Neil Quellhorst

Lead Engineer

neil-quellhorst@uiowa.edu

319-335-0365

Chuck Romans

Lead Industrial Designer

charles-romans@uiowa.edu

319-335-6067

Kenny Karanja
Kenny Karanja, Ph.D.

Licensing Associate

kenneth-karanja@uiowa.edu

319-335-4607

Student Operations Team

Rachel Cron
Rachel Cron

Student Quality System Manager

rachel-cron@uiowa.edu

Akar Jani

Junior Student Manufacturing Engineer

Akar-Jani@uiowa.edu

Jesse Haworth

Senior Student Manufacturing Engineer

Jesse-Haworth@uiowa.edu

Nicole Koenigsman

Student Quality Engineer

Nicole-Koenigsman@uiowa.edu

Megan Gerdes, Student Product Manager
Megan Gerdes

Student Product Manager

Operations Team Alumni

Parker Reineke

BS, Biomedical Engineering

MADE: Quality Team

After graduation: Biomedical Engineer, iotaMotion, Iowa City, IA

Contact us

Questions about the products? Questions about MADE?  Interested in licensing one of the technologies?  Interested in hiring one of our students?

Contact us: Iowa-Made@uiowa.edu